Who are we?

Who are we?

The company

From the initial consultation, through to the handling of sophisticated waste management concepts: G.V.S. Gesellschaft für die Verwertung von Sonderabfällen mbH & Co. KG are your specialists for hazardous waste and solvents. With two strong parent companies by our side (Süd-Müll GmbH & Co. KG/Willersinn Group and HIM GmbH/Indaver Group), we have been entrusted with the management of hazardous waste on behalf of industry, commerce, households and municipalities throughout Europe for more than 40 years.

Waste management is much more than the actual treatment of waste. First of all, waste management requires the willingness to take responsibility.

- Ralf Eberbach, Sales Manager, G.V.S. GmbH & Co. KG

26 experts at our Mannheim location are responsible for the proper and professional management of 100,000 tonnes of waste per year. The administration of the network is based at the G.V.S. headquarters on Friesenheimer Insel. The operational waste management takes place at our facility at Mannheim-Rheinau Harbour, which is licensed according to the German Federal Emissions Control Act (BImSchG). With a total volume of almost 7,000 m³ in several tanks, we have been managing liquid hazardous waste here, frequently in the form of solvents, since the early 1980s. For this purpose, in addition to the company’s operating laboratory and tank farm, a transshipment terminal for tankers, two rail sidings and filling platforms for road tankers are available.

We are a team of 26.
Yet we are still the same.

- Jens Paßmann, Managing Director -

Who are we?

The team

Strong. Highly motivated. And exceptionally industry-savvy. The G.V.S. team is a strong mix of 26 dedicated professionals: young colleagues and those with more experience, experts from the areas of operations and administration. Regardless of the chemical, technical or commercial qualification required for the professional management of or commerce with hazardous waste, the G.V.S. team is united by a shared understanding of their task: G.V.S. does not take a uniform approach to orders. With each batch, we pull out all the stops to develop and implement the best possible solution for the specific individual project. And we always act in the here and now. 

In this context, our strong teamwork enables economic, ecological and legal factors to be considered in the right balance at all times. Every day anew.

G.V.S. strives to create an atmosphere of mutual respect in all of its projects, right from the very start. This not only applies to the discussions with external stakeholders such as customers, partners and public authorities, it also shapes the way that we work together in-house. After all, anyone who works for G.V.S. has soft skills that come with the job – they have their feet on the ground, as well as a sense of responsibility and empathy. In return, as a reliable employer with stable economic conditions, G.V.S creates planning security and provides the decisive plus in terms of personal quality of life.

Personal appreciation requires discussions on an equitable basis. That’s what we can do. And that’s what we do.

- Jens Paßmann, Managing Director, G.V.S. GmbH & Co KG
Who are we?

Our aspiration

As a certified waste management company, we address the greatest possible challenge in the raw materials business: the recycling and management of hazardous waste. This requires special skills, capacities and virtues – of which perseverance is one, as there is a solution for every hazardous waste problem, regardless of its complexity. Talk to us about it.

If anyone can transform potentially hazardous waste into a new raw material on a value-adding basis, it’s us. Because we can and because we want to.

- Luke Protz, Chemical Engineer, G.V.S. GmbH & Co. KG

As a company for the management of and commerce with hazardous waste, we have been working to return recyclable resources to the circular economy for more than 40 years. Eliminating the risk potential through thermal recovery is and remains a secondary option. With our aspiration for the environmentally friendly treatment and forced recovery of hazardous waste, we are among the pioneers of the mega-trend in sustainability, which takes a simple realisation into account: On a finite planet, raw materials only exist to a limited extent. Therefore, the recycling of hazardous waste is also to be considered as compulsory. We are not alone in this premise for action – on the contrary, with public awareness for climate neutrality, industrial zero-waste concepts and the EU Green Deal, sustainability has arrived at the heart of society as a guiding principle.

The GVS team

Your contact persons

Jens Paßmann
Managing Director
Ralf Ebersbach
Sales Manager
Daniela Böhm
Waste management projects
Sabrina Zöckel
Sales
Our history

G.V.S. – at the cutting edge of the management of hazardous waste for several decades

1979
The company is founded as GVS Gesellschaft für Verbrennung auf See mbH & Co. KG. Start of tank farm operations at the Rheinau Harbour in Mannheim.
1984
Start of tank farm operations at the Rheinau Harbour in Mannheim
1989
The Federal Republic of Germany finally discontinues the incineration of waste at sea, as qualified waste management facilities for liquid organic solvents are now also available on land. G.V.S. subsequently consistently expands its range of services in the field of the management of hazardous waste surrounding the core business of tank farm operations.
1994
Integration of the operations of WESTAB Mannheim and expansion of its range of services
1995
Change of the company name to G.V.S. Gesellschaft für die Verwertung von Sonderabfällen mbH & Co. KG
2004
Relocation of the registered office to Mannheim, where G.V.S. has had its administrative headquarters on Friesenheimer Insel ever since. The shareholders of G.V.S. are Süd-Müll GmbH & Co KG in Heßheim and HIM GmbH in Biebesheim.
2011
Handling of the first ship-based delivery of liquid hazardous waste at our tank farm. Completion of transshipment logistics by road tanker, tank container, rail tank car and barge.

CONTACT

G.V.S. Gesellschaft für die Verwertung von Sonderabfällen mbH & Co. KG. Send us a message. We look forward to hearing from you!

Wer sind wir?

Wer sind wir?

Die Unternehmung

Von der Erstberatung bis zur Abwicklung komplexer Entsorgungskonzepte: Die G.V.S. Gesellschaft für die Verwertung von Sonderabfällen mbH & Co. KG ist Ihr Spezialist für gefährliche Abfälle und Lösemittel. Mit zwei starken Muttergesellschaften an unserer Seite Süd-Müll GmbH & Co. KG/Willersinn-Gruppe (HIM GmbH/Indaver-Gruppe und) sind wir seit über 40 Jahren europaweit im Auftrag von Industrie, Gewerbe, Haushalten und Kommunen mit der Entsorgung von Sonderabfällen betraut.

Entsorgung ist weit mehr als das eigentliche Behandeln von Abfällen. Entsorgung erfordert zunächst die Bereitschaft, Verantwortung zu übernehmen.

- Ralf Eberbach, Vertriebsleiter, G.V.S. GmbH & Co. KG

26 Expertinnen und Experten verantworten am Standort Mannheim die fachgerechte und ordnungsgemäße Entsorgung von 100.000 Tonnen Abfall pro Jahr. Im G.V.S.-Headquarter auf der Friesenheimer Insel laufen die Fäden des  G.V.S.-Netzwerks administrativ zusammen. Der operative Entsorgungsbetrieb erfolgt auf unserer nach BImSchG genehmigten Anlage im Hafen Mannheim-Rheinau. Mit einem Gesamtvolumen von knapp 7.000 m³ in mehreren Tanks schlagen wir hier seit Anfang der 1980er Jahre flüssige Sonderabfälle, häufig Lösemittel, um. Dafür stehen neben dem eigenen Betriebslabor und Tanklager ein Umschlagsterminal für Tankschiffe, zwei Gleisanschlüsse und Füllbühnen für Straßentankfahrzeuge zur Verfügung.

Wir sind 26.
Wir sind noch wir!

- Jens Paßmann, Geschäftsführer -

Wer sind wir?

Die Mannschaft

Leistungsstark. Hoch motiviert. Und außergewöhnlich branchenaffin. Die G.V.S.-Belegschaft ist ein schlagkräftiger Mix aus 26 engagierten Fachkräften: jungen und gestandenen Kolleginnen und Kollegen, Expertinnen und Experten aus dem operativen und administrativen Bereich. Ungeachtet der chemischen, technischen oder kaufmännischen Qualifikation, die für die professionelle Entsorgung oder das Handeln mit Sonderabfällen notwendig ist, eint das G.V.S.-Team das gleiche Verständnis ihrer Aufgabe: G.V.S. arbeitet keine Aufträge ab. Wir setzen bei jeder Charge alle Hebel in Bewegung, um projektspezifisch die bestmögliche Lösung zu entwickeln und umzusetzen. Nicht perspektivisch, sondern im Hier und Jetzt. 

Dass dabei ökonomische, ökologische und rechtliche Aspekte in der richtigen Balance berücksichtigt werden können, ist immer einer starken Teamleistung geschuldet. Jeden Tag aufs Neue.

G.V.S. ist bemüht, bei allen Projekten von Beginn an eine Atmosphäre gegenseitiger Wertschätzung zu schaffen. Dies gilt nicht nur für den Austausch mit externen Stakeholdern wie Kunden, Partnern und öffentlicher Hand, sondern prägt auch das Miteinander im Hause. Denn wer für G.V.S. arbeitet, verfügt bei aller gebotenen fachlichen Kompetenz über Soft Skills, die man von Hause aus mitbringt – Bodenständigkeit, Verantwortungsbewusstsein und Empathie. Im Gegenzug schafft G.V.S. als verlässlicher Arbeitgeber mit stabilen wirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen Planungssicherheit und sorgt für das entscheidende Plus an persönlicher Lebensqualität.

Persönliche Wertschätzung erfordert einen Dialog auf Augenhöhe. Können wir. Machen wir.

- Jens Paßmann, Geschäftsführer, G.V.S.  GmbH & Co. KG
Wer sind wir?

Unser Anspruch

Als zertifizierter Entsorgungsfachbetrieb befassen wir uns mit der größtmöglich anzunehmenden Herausforderung im Rohstoff-Business: der stofflichen Verwertung und Beseitigung von gefährlichen Abfällen. Dafür sind besondere Kompetenzen, Kapazitäten und Tugenden vonnöten – Beharrlichkeit ist eine davon, denn faktisch existiert für jedes noch so komplexe Sonderabfall-Problem eine Lösung. Sprechen Sie uns dazu an.

Wenn jemand potenziell gefährlichen Abfall wertschöpfend in einen neuen Rohstoff transformieren kann, dann sind wir das. Weil wir es können und weil wir es wollen.

- Lukas Protz, Chemieingenieur, G.V.S. GmbH & Co. KG

Als Entsorger und Händler von gefährlichen Abfällen streben wir seit über 40 Jahren die Rückführung wieder verwertbarer Ressourcen in die Kreislaufwirtschaft an. Die Beseitigung des Gefahrenpotenzials durch die thermische Verwertung ist und bleibt eine nachrangige Option. Mit dem Anspruch einer umweltschonenden Behandlung und forcierten Verwertung von gefährlichen Abfällen zählen wir zu den Pionieren des Megatrends Nachhaltigkeit, der einer einfachen Erkenntnis Rechnung trägt: Rohstoffe gibt es auf einem finiten Planeten nur in begrenztem Umfang. Daher ist die Verwertung selbst von gefährlichem Abfall zwingend geboten. Zu unserer großen Freude stehen wir mit dieser Handlungsprämisse nicht allein da – im Gegenteil, denn mit dem öffentlichen Bewusstsein für Klimaneutralität, industriellen Zero-Waste-Konzepten und dem Green Deal der EU ist Nachhaltigkeit als Leitprinzip in der Mitte der Gesellschaft angekommen.

Das GVS Team

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Jens Paßmann
Geschäftsführer
Ralf Ebersbach
Vertriebsleiter
Daniela Böhm
Entsorgungsprojekte
Sabrina Reffert
Vertrieb
Unsere Historie

G.V.S. – seit Jahrzehnten am Puls der Sonderabfallentsorgung

1979
Gründung der Gesellschaft als GVS Gesellschaft für Verbrennung auf See mbH & Co. KG. Aufnahme des Tanklager-Betriebes im Mannheimer Rheinau-Hafen.
1984
Aufnahme des Tanklager-Betriebs im Mannheimer Rheinau-Hafen
1989
Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland stellte die Seeverbrennung endgültig ein, da es nun auch an Land qualifizierte Entsorgungsanlagen für flüssige, organische Lösemittel gab. Die G.V.S. erweiterte im Anschluss daran konsequent ihr Dienstleistungsspektrum im Bereich der Sonderabfallentsorgung um das Kerngeschäft des Tanklagerbetriebes herum.
1994
Integration der Mannheimer Aktivitäten der WESTAB und Ausbau der Dienstleistungspalette
1995
Änderung des Firmennamens in G.V.S. Gesellschaft für die Verwertung von Sonderabfällen mbH & Co. KG
2004
Sitzverlegung nach Mannheim, wo die G.V.S. seitdem ihren Verwaltungsstandort auf der Friesenheimer Insel hat. Gesellschafter der G.V.S. sind die Süd-Müll GmbH & Co. KG in Heßheim sowie die HIM GmbH in Biebesheim.
2011
Abfertigung der ersten Schiffsanlieferung mit flüssigen gefährlichen Abfällen in unserem Tanklager. Komplettierung der Umschlagslogistik mit Straßentankfahrzeug, Tankcontainer, Bahnkesselwagen und Binnenschiff.